Letters from the Future (2033)

When I first started teaching some 29 or 30 years ago (who’s counting?), I made it a point to never do the same thing the same way every year. That is a sure path to boredom and teacher burnout. I like to try new things each year and I think that is one reason I have never been bored with teaching. Ralph Waldo Emerson said it best: “A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.”

Even though I do not teach everything the same way year-to-year, there are some activities that cry for repetition. The Pursuing the Past unit in the fall, and now, with an eye to the what is coming to a life near you, Letters from the Future.

The premise is simple: write a letter to your dear old 4th-grade teacher from the perspective of the 30-year old that you have become. Tell about what you’ve done in the intervening 20 years, and catch him up on what you are doing “now.”

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the high school class of 2021’s Letters from the Future.

[This post is over 8,000 words long, so leave yourself a lot of time to go through them or do a few at a time.]

IMG_7464

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Leah. I am 30 now. I was in your fourth grade class from 2012-2013. I’m the one who always wanted to sing and played Keiko in the school play.
I finished middle school at Sellwood, which kept me interested in music, and went to Cleveland High School and started to act a little more and graduated in 2021. But then I also went to the University of Colorado and started being interested in more medical things. Now I have a job as a part time actor and full time nurse with a masters degree in the Medical Field.
When I was in fourth grade I wanted to be a vet which I still think would be nice.
I remember in fourth grade we would sing lots of songs like “This Pretty Planet” and “When I First Came to This Land” and my favorite activity we did was the Oregon Trail unit. (I wish we would have done more history.)
I have traveled to a lot different countries to help preserve their culture, that is something I’ve always wanted to do. I have also made a fund to help stop pollution.
Some of my hobbies are singing, being with my pets and being with my husband. My husband’s name is Ben Lorial. Ben and I met on my way to Russia for the first time. We do not have any kids but we do have various pets. Ben is a teacher at a nearby school called Clarcston Middle School.
I am still living in the United States, but I live a little ways out of Denver, Colorado. I have also lived in England, Russia (where I met Ben), and other states like Hawaii, and Texas. I would also still like to go to Papua, New Guinea because my parents, when they were younger, went there for Peace Corps, which inspired me.
Good News! There are no more big climate changes and gas has gone down in price.
Some additional stuff I will mention are: I am still friends with some of your old students (my friends.) I also still have my love of animals and that is why I have three dogs: Analea, a Westie; Oscar, a Schnoodle; and Cassy, a Golden Retriever. I also have a cat Satty, a Persian. Plus four chickens: Melody, Terolly, Leo, Nelly, and a little mouse (Lewis) I got when I was 21.
Well, for me, there’s tons to talk about, but that’s all for now. Nice to get in touch.
Sincerely,
Leah

IMG_7450

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Alex. You may not remember me, but I was the kid in your fourth-grade class from 2012-2013 that started playing basketball again. You encouraged me to play it again, so I played with Austin and Henry. You may not remember them either.

In my middle school years at Sellwood, I hung out with my friend Henry. When I went to my high school, Cleveland, Henry and I saved up for college. We did get enough for both of us. Our college was Reed College. Now I usually get to hang out with Henry about once a week.

After college I worked for a video game company called Begone. In the game, when I play, I always say “EL” which stands for Evil Laugh.

Then after I retired I worked for military and spy robotics. After I got off work one day, I found a picture of you and me and that is when I remembered Lewis Elementary School and the rest of the Staff. The day after that I worked on a robot for the school. It was a talking teacher assistant and I gave it to the school after it was finished.

The next day when I got to work I remembered about the sports that I did like basketball. So I made a robot that could do that.

After that I made a boxing robot for the Military in hand-to-hand combat.

Sincerely,
Alex

IMG_7454

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Nathaniel, but you knew me as Nate. I’m 30 now and it is 2033. I was in your 4th grade class from 2012 to 2013. I was the second one in your class to read all the ORCA books.

I went to Sellwood Middle School and Cleveland High School, then I moved to New Orleans, Louisiana. After that went to Louisiana State University (LSU).

When I was 23 and fresh out of college, I wanted to go Lubbock Air Force Base in Texas so I did. In 2028 I graduated and started flying F-89s. I have the rank of Senior Airman.

Then I moved to Florida to have a place to go when I am not working.

Then when I turned 28 World War III started. It all started when Germany bombed Great Britain. My squadron, commanded by General Jack Honder, didn’t get involved until the recent (still going on) Battle of Tokyo.

I have a flying pal named Roger who flies with me a lot. I was flying my A-10 right before the battle of Tokyo with Roger when I heard someone over my headset. He said his name is “Tyler.”

I said mine was “Nate,” so I asked him what his last name was and he told me what it was.

“Were we in Mr. Colvin’s 4th grade class together?” and he said “Yes.”

Then a minute later I heard Tyler saying he needed air support, so I flew over and started firing with a RATATATATATATAT, when my left engine got shot. So I quickly crash landed by Tyler and I jumped out of my plane with a handgun and hid behind my plane while Tyler came over.

Right now Tyler and I are setting up base near the city of Tokyo. After that battle, my squadron works more and more with Tyler’s.

I spend a lot of my spare time flying new jets, testing them for Lockheed company, I also spend my time flying missions all over the world. Right now I am doing my best to stop World War III by trying to help ground forces and helping the wounded and everybody else who needs help.

Sometimes I visit my home in Florida where I have a big white mansion on about five acres. I have a wife named Ronnie and a daughter called Francie who is seven, and two boys called Sam and John, they are both seven. I also have a very old 1966 Cadillac, and a 2002 Mazda p-5.

When I was in 4th grade I thought I wanted to be a mechanical engineer, but I still get to fly new planes and tell the company what they should do. My flying pal Roger and I own a private airfield that we fly out of every once in awhile. I have a base that is in Germany called Bunker #9 that stores about 100 planes. I work out of Bunker #9 a lot.

2033 has been a good year for me show far. I am working with Tyler, and Lockheed invented a new F-98 that I love.

Thank you for the great field trips like the one to Bonneville and Lelooska!

Sincerely,
Nathaniel

IMG_7446

Dear Mr. Colvin,
You may not remember me but my name is Kohl. I was the drummer in the classroom.

It is now 2033 and I am twenty-nine years old. I went to Brown University and studied music. Then after college I went to law school to become a lawyer. A lawyer for insurance companies that are getting sued.

I am currently living in Providence, Rhode Island. I have been living here ever since I started college. I finished college when I was twenty-four and then I went to law school. My wife and I had our first kid when I was twenty-five. She is now four and her name is Josie. Josie Anne. When I was twenty-seven we had our second kid. A little boy named Jason. Jason Kealey. He is now two years old.

We live in a fairly big house in the smallest state in the U.S. We are moving to San Jose, California next year because I was offered a job for several companies. We are moving to a big house with a dug-in pool. Being a lawyer makes pretty good money.

When I was sixteen I did three things: I got a driver’s license, I got a job, and I got a drum kit. I got a license so I could get to work and high school. I went to school at Grover Cleveland High, I went to work at a Guitar Center in the drum area and saved up for a couple of months so I could buy a $3,000 dw drum set. It was shiny, blue, and brand new.

When I was thirteen I went back to the School of Rock in the all-star group where you play with really famous people on some of the biggest stages in the world. People like the lead guitarist of the band Guns N’ Roses and much more.

I am currently the drummer for a band called Hollow World 12, with these people…

1. Jack Remheir [vocals/guitarist]
2. Tom Wilson [bass/vocals/piano]
3. Kohl [drums/percussion/vocals]

Hollow World 12 has 3 records out. The famous one is “HOLLOW PEOPLE.”

In 2026, when I was twenty-two I met my wife Jenny when we were both in the same history class at Brown.

My favorite thing about fourth grade was the play. Barry was very innocent. I remember when you used to say that if the story is boring to you then it is going to be boring to the reader. I hope this isn’t boring to you, because it isn’t to me!

Sincerely Your Student,

Kohl
Class of 2012-2013

IMG_7455

Dear Mr. Colvin,

You may not remember me but, my name is Stella from your fourth grade class at Meriwether Lewis Elementary School. I’m the one that went to Fossil, Oregon and shared the plant fossils that I found there with the class. Since fourth grade I’ve been wondering, have you retired yet or are you still teaching in Room 24? What are you doing these days?

I’m 30 years old and I’m a famous singer. You may have heard of me. I’m also a fashion designer and an animal caretaker. I have not gotten married yet, but I did adopt two girls, one at the age of two and the other at the age of three. The girl that I adopted at the age of two was Lizzy and the one that I adopted at the age of three was Nikky. Now Lizzy is 12 and Nikky is 13, so I’ve had Lizzy and Nikky for about 10 years.

I went to middle school at Da Vinci Middle School, to high school at Cleveland High School, and I went to college at Reed College. In Reed College I majored in art and science. What did you major in when you were in college?

My family is not very big, but my mom’s name is Jessica, my dad’s name is Arthur, my brother’s name is David/Aiden, and my two daughters’ names are Lizzy and Nikky. I love my family!

When I was In fourth grade, I thought I would be a vet and an artist, but I’m not. I also thought that I might go and cook in homeless shelters and that did happen. Have you cooked/helped out at a homeless shelter lately?

I’m not living in Portland, Oregon anymore but I’m living In Paris. While I’m on my singing shift, I travel on tours with other singers. I do have a lot of money but I use It for donating, homeless shelters, and changing the world.

I have six pets. I have two cats, two dogs, one guinea pig, and one ferret. One dog’s name is Eli and she is a girl, the other’s name is Ina and she is also a girl, one cat’s name is Boo-Boo and he is a boy, the other cat’s name is Ana and she is a girl, my guinea pig’s name is Mo Mo and he is a boy, and my ferret’s name is Orina.

Do you have any pets? If so how many, what are their names and are they girls or boys? Do you like animals/did you like animals?

Are you having fun and are you liking your life because I am. I hope you’re having fun and I miss you!

Sincerely,
Stella Katherine

IMG_7456

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Hayden. I was in your fourth grade class at Lewis Elementary school from 2012-2013. I was the one who got a strange package in your mailbox.

I am 29 now. Over the years I’ve done a lot of things. I’ve gone to Sellwood Middle School, Cleveland High School, even college. My hobby is doing extra work. My favorite subject in college was biology.

Four months after I graduated in 2021 I got married to my wife, Jessie. We traveled a lot around the United States. A month after our marriage, I got a job as a biologist. Five years after I was hired, Jessie became pregnant and she had a baby boy. His name is Robert. He is 6 now.

I met Jessie in Nevada. I was in college. She was nice to everyone. (I think she liked me too.) We graduated at the same time.

Robert is a lot like me. The only thing he does not have in common with me is that he hates school. He is in kindergarten. He doesn’t like homework. He always says he’d rather be playing on his Xbox. I always tell him that will change when he’s older and he always says it won’t.

Sincerely,

Hayden

IMG_7447

Dear Mr. Colvin,
It’s me, Tanner. I was in your fourth grade class in 2012-2013. I was the one who wore the raccoon hat. I went to Sellwood Middle School, and Cleveland High School. I went to three years of college then dropped out. I was in the college called Navy. I was studying military science.

Then I joined a military group called American AMMFS. It stands for Advanced Military Mixed Fighting Squad. We are after a guy named Opeme Bium. He caused 8-14. It’s like 9-11, but worse. They drove planes into eight different schools, set off twenty-four car bombs, and one gun scare. Same day, same people who caused it. It happened on 8/14/32. I am a sergeant. You should see our AMMFS flag. It’s hilarious. We are elite commandos so the flag is a picture of a halo elite, and a picture of underwear that has a red slash through it, and then it says AMMFS. Our uniform is all black sort of like Israeli commandos except our helmet looks like a paintball helmet. And the visor is tinted black.

I have made an invention too! It is an incendiary grenade launcher that can lock on. I have also invented storage doggy armor (vest, face armor, foot armor and leg armor). The vest has pouches for one water bottle and a couple of ammo magazines. The foot armor has a pouch for a letter. So if you want to give your teammate a note you put the note in the pouch and then point to who you want give the note to and tell your dog to go. They are specially trained for that.

I got injured on May 6, 2028. I took the bullet so my friend didn’t. The friend I saved was a medic, so he fixed me up enough to slow down the bleeding. Without him I could’ve died. Without me he could’ve died.

My dad (Alan) is now 68. He is in good health and doing great. My mom Codie is now 59. She is in good health and also doing great. My sister Tabitha is 35. She is a hair stylist. My brother Tyler is a firefighter. My other brother Colton is an Intel worker. He makes computer chips. I have a wife named Jessica and a son named Jacob. Jessica is 29 and is a teacher. Jacob is four years old.

I have traveled to many places like Germany and Australia. I have also learned how to speak German.

I have a AMMFS dog named Rover that is a German Shepard. My wife has a cat named Cheese Puffs. Cheese Puffs is a little overweight. I guess that explains his name. Cheese Puffs’ full name is Cheese Puffs Cheesiest Cheese. Jacob named him that. Cheese Puffs is his favorite food/treat, (when I say cheese puffs is his favorite food/treat I don’t mean the cat)!!!

Sincerely,
Tanner

IMG_7442

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is William Mason. I was in your 4th grade class. You may not remember me, but I was the new kid that broke his wrist. I also was a super fast reader. I sometimes keep in touch with my old friends from school (Rylan & Ryan).

I went to Cleveland High School and Mizzou (University of Missouri) for college. I was also on their soccer team.

Now I play for Newcastle United Football Club (in England) and it is like my dream come true. I play midfield. I play there because I have been a big fan of Newcastle soccer club since I was 4 and still am.

Since I was in your class I have gone to Virginia, (for the 13th time at least) to see my family, Missouri for college, Newcastle for my soccer career, and Colorado to see some old friends.

My brother Kai, who was in Mrs. Leake’s class, is a scientist and he is trying to invent a potion to make people fly. My brother Alex is still going to college.

Mom and Dad have retired and are trying to figure out if they’re going to move or not.

I don’t know what I’m going to do with my life in a couple of years but maybe I’ll make a recycling company that cleans up the city every other day (Schedule: Mon. Wed. Fri.).

I don’t really live in one place right now because of my soccer career, but maybe I’ll move back to Oregon for the recycling business or maybe I’ll keep traveling some more.

Sincerely,
Mason

IMG_7460

Dear Mr. Colvin,
You may not remember me. I am from your fourth grade class in 2012-2013. I remember you perfectly and maybe this will jog your memory about me. I am the girl you called a Writer and I bet you still would. You used to know me as Payton Alexis, but not anymore.

I am twenty-nine years old. I have two kids named Alexis Ana Harlton and Kason Page Harlton. I also have a husband named Adam Jack Harlton, so I am now Payton Alexis Harlton. I have a girl dog named Sierra that is a chihuahua and a girl dog named Jayden that is a boxer. Sierra had puppies with my Skyler’s dog Benjamin and there are two girl puppies named Sky and Sydney, and one boy named Benji.

I work at Lewis Elementary School as a fourth-grade teacher. I went to Sellwood Middle School and Cleveland High School and Concordia College.

Alexis is five years old and Kason is seven years old. I got married when I was twenty years old and had Kason when I was twenty-two and had Alexis when I was twenty-four years old. I planned my wedding with another student from your class and her name was Aubrey Rebecca. She was the one who screamed right in my ear, “SPIDER!!!!” and made you break your guitar strap.

I loved that student teacher, what was her name? Oh, yes, Ms. Altz. Can you tell her I miss her and I will keep in touch? You guys are the best teacher and student teacher a kid could ever have.

Sincerely,
Your student Payton Alexis
P.S. I will always be your guys’ student!

IMG_7452

Dear Mr. Colvin,
Hello, I am Zoë. I was in your fourth grade class from 2012-2013 and I am 30 now.

You may not remember me, but I was the one that was on the cover of the NW Kids Magazine.

Well, lots of things happened since fourth grade.

After Lewis I went to Sellwood Middle School. Then I went to Cleveland High School and graduated in 2021. I moved on to San Jose University to train to be a veterinarian. I moved to Santa Cruz, California and met my husband Jim, and now I have a bright-eyed baby named Quinn and a big Great Dane named Stretch.

Quinn and I go to the beach every Saturday. I started a club where you go on the beach to pick up trash because animals are getting hurt with trash.

Since I moved to Santa Cruz I have learned how to surf (with practice.) I also sew and garden when I’m not in my office or in my check out room (where I fix animals or just check on them to see if they’re healthy.) In my free time I work at a farmers market and sell fruits.

When I was in fourth grade I wanted to be an artist. I don’t know how I ended up to be a vet.

So far I have been to Hawaii, Florida, Washington and Canada. I still want to go to Mexico City in Mexico because it’s hot, you can swim, and it would be fun for Quinn and Jim too. I want to go to Greenland because it so cold and I love snow.

Some new world news is there are no more nuclear weapons and climate change is under control.

When my daughter gets older I will read her The One And Only Ivan and Charlotte’s Web.

So thats what I’ve been up to. How about you?

Nice to get in touch.

Sincerely,
ZoëIMG_7451

Dear Mr. Colvin,
Hi! I was from your fourth grade class from 2012 to 2013. I was the one who always said, “I come in peace!” with a silly voice. And if that does not remind you of me, I was the police officer in Gooney Bird Greene and Her True Life Adventures. My name is Mariah.

Just to let you know, I am a veterinarian now. I am now 30 years old.

One of the things that stood out to me in your class was how much we got to practice singing. I also do some concerts. I sing country music.

For middle school I went to Sellwood and for high school I went to Cleveland. I learned a lot of new things. Like I learned more about science.

Also, do you remember a girl named Veronica? Because if you do, then you probably want to know that Veronica and I are on the same professional soccer team together. It’s really fun working with a friend.

I live in California now because it is so pretty there. I also have a farm in the southern part of California. Just to let you know that I have a husband named Jack. Veronica and I are neighbors.

You inspired me to go to college. I want to thank you so much!

I have helped a lot of homeless animals get better homes. And most of the money I get from singing I give to the Children’s Hospital. One of my hobbies is collecting rocks and gems.

I also wrote a play myself called The Gods’ Girls. It’s a really fun play about Greek mythology, but it has a twist to it. It’s about three sisters and one of them who wants to go to the mainland. All of the sudden their dad starts acting weird. Then suddenly their dad is missing the next day! They tried to tell the guards, but they did not believe them. And they tried to find their mom but she wasn’t there either.

Please write back when you can.

Sincerely,
Mariah

2013-05-23 18.16.19

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Macrory and I am 29 years old now. When I was 10 years old I was in your 4th grade class. I was the one who was very good at math.

After high school I went to OSU and studied agriculture. Now I am a farmer in the Willamette Valley. On my farm I grow tomatoes, corn, potatoes, and dollar trees. The dollar tree is our best crop!

I have an amazing family. I have 600 kids. 300 of them are adopted. All of them help me with my farm.

In 4th grade I really enjoyed doing the Oregon Trail stuff.

On my free-time, I like to go to the movies. My favorite type are comedy. Two of my favorite movies are Spongebob and the Pink Panther. I like to watch them at home and at the movies.

The world is a better place now. We use only renewable power. So, the world is cooling down.

Sincerely,
Macrory

2013-05-22 10.15.13-2

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Julian. I am now 29 years old. I was in your class in 2013. I was the one in the school play. Now, I’m graduated from Reed College where I studied muscles and live in an apartment in New York. I am not married and have no kids.

I have a job as a massage therapist. I like it because I get to use my hands.

In 4th grade I really enjoyed the library.

My hobbies are surfing the web and playing Battleship. I play it on Mondays.

I also traveled to Hawaii and have a labradoodle. I saw the hula dancers while I was in Hawaii and went surfing.

The world has a new kind of TV called SV. That stands for SmelleVision.

Sincerely,
Julian

IMG_7457

Dear Mr. Colvin,
It is your old friend Trevion. I was the one who loved baseball and played on a team with Joey. He was my best friend that loved baseball too.

I am living a successful life. I went to Reed College and I mastered in science and graduated with all A’s.

I am doing good. I play Major League Baseball now. Our team name is the Red Sox. I have one more game left. We lost one game because we were down by two players. We have had a long season of baseball and some games we have won by one run, some ten, that was the runs. But one game was really, really close. The outfielder almost dropped the ball, but the outfielder got him out.

I have three kids and a wife. I am going to retire after the last game. I am not feeling good about retiring. After I retire I have no idea what I am going to do. I think I’m going to be an auto mechanic. I have a family with three kids. Just to let you know they are doing good.

I have made the world a better place by not driving a car that much and riding a bike more often and recycling things more often.

I have traveled to California and Alabama to play baseball. The best time in your fourth-grade class I remember is the songs that we sang.

Write Back,
Sincerely,
Tre

IMG_7459

Dear Mr. Colvin,
It is now 2033. I was in your classroom in Room 24 at Lewis Elementary. The middle school I went to was Sellwood, and the high school was Cleveland. The college I went to was Reed College. One of my favorite schools is Lewis Elementary.

You know me as Tyler, the one who liked fractions and still do. My family is my sister Angel, my mom Michelle, and my dad Carl. I remember all the art we did for Art Night.

My job is a foot soldier in World War III.

Nate and I are setting up camp near the city of Tokyo. I have seen kids see things no kid should see. They saw people dead. Two days earlier Nate and I were ambushed by Tokyo troops.

I have traveled to New Mexico, Florida, and Asia and Washington.

My house is in Gold Beach, Oregon and I have six acres of a solid gold mansion and I have two acres of corn.

My new family is my wife Rose, my son Sam, and my dog Bob. I got Bob from a kennel in Port Orford, Oregon.

I have to go now because it is my time to look for enemies. I’m here now again. My shift is over now. The time is now 8:00 p.m. and I am very tired now. I am going to sleep now.

Sincerely,
Tyler
P.S. Fourth grade was the BEST GRADE !!!

IMG_7443

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Olivia. I was in your fourth grade class and I was the tallest girl in your class. After 4th grade I went to 5th grade, then I went to Sellwood Middle School. When I was 14, I passed 8th grade.

I went to Cleveland High School and I went to the school prom and graduated in 2021. Then I went to Reed College. I was going to do computer coding for a living.

After college I found a house to live in. I lived in the house for one or two years until I found a nicer house in New York. And you know what? I bought the house, but it would be lonely in a house in a big city, so I decided to go to India to adopt a child. I wanted to get a girl, so I did. I named her Brisha. As she got to the age around six or seven, we got a cat and her name is Nicknack but for short we call her Kit.

Brisha is always playing with Nicknack. It is so funny when she plays with the feather that is tied to a piece of string that Brisha put up. Nicknack loves to play with it. When Brisha was 10 I said do you have any friends that you want to invite to your birthday? She said yes, her name is Daisy. I said ok.

Two weeks after the talk about the birthday we planned the party. Brisha said that she wanted the party to be a sleepover. I said ok to Brisha. She was so happy that she asked for a phone for her birthday. I said maybe. Then she asked for two new outfits and I said maybe. Then she asked for a tablet, a computer, a TV for her room, and a dog. I said no to the dog and computer. But maybe the TV and tablet.

But I bet you are wondering what I’m doing. Well I go to Africa every year to help children and adults in need of water and food. And I bring toys and solar power fans and clothes. I also went to England. It was so nice there. And you know people tell you that people drink a lot of tea there? There is a shop that only has tea in there.

I remember when I was in school you told a story that when you were little you put sand in your dad’s gas tank with your friend because you were playing gas station. All of us laughed. And when you taught us how to sing songs and so many other things.

Now are you ok? Do you have any pets? Do you still teach? What subject did you like to do with us?

Sincerely,
Olivia from your fourth grade class
P.S. I got a dog after two years of having Nicknack and they love playing with each other.

IMG_7462

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Nora. I was in your 4th grade class from 2012 to 2013. I was the first person who brought in a guinea pig for Student of the Week. He had an accident and I had to pick up his poop! Now I am 30 years old. When I left Lewis, I went to Sellwood Middle School. I attended Cleveland High School.

I went to College and studied to learn how to train dogs. Also I wanted to know how to work at the shop with a whole bunch of pets and animals.

I might change to something else or I might just stick with that. I also want to help dogs to learn how to be a guide dogs and also to be helper dogs that can help other people with problems that are very difficult for them to see or hear.

The reason why I want to work with animals is because I like their personality. When I was little, I got to hang out with a lot of dogs, and my other favorite pet is guinea pigs. I like animals because they are kind and sweet.

I have two kids and their names are Gloria and Greta. Gloria is almost six and Greta will be three in two months. I am married and I have a husband and his name is Jake.

Sincerely,
Nora

IMG_7453

Dear Mr. Colvin,
I was a student of yours back in 2012/2013. If you don’t remember me, I am the kid who demonstrated on how to make a Lego stop motion animation. Remember when I made a Lego stop motion with the cheese stealer. I made it with your iPad. My name is Rylan.

The schools I went to are….

middle school–Sellwood

high school–Cleveland

College–Texas Tech University.

I graduated from high school in 2021. I graduated with a lot of people who were in your class.

My job is really cool. I make movies, mostly Batman movies. Have you seen my best-selling Batman movie yet? It is the number 1 film in America. If you haven’t seen it, I’ll tell you what it is about. First Robin dies, then Ras Al Gule brings Robin back to life. Then Robin becomes the red hood, and killed a bunch of the criminals. Oh, and the Joker is the one who killed Robin. Batman will try to stop Robin and a lot more happens! My job makes $100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 dollars a year because I make movies.

Today in 2033 I am 29 years old. I have a wife named Sally and a son named Tim Drake. He is five years old. I have not been to many places with my family, because my job takes up most of my time. But I do want to go to Germany, because I am German. I live in Portland, Oregon with my wife and son. Oh, and Tim is in kindergarten at Lewis.

Sincerely,
Rylan

IMG_7465

Dear Mr. Colvin,
You might not remember me, but I am Aubrey from your class in 2013 and I am the one who yelled, “SPIDER!!!” and then you broke your guitar strap.

I went to Sellwood Middle School and Cleveland High School and when I was in high school my favorite two classes were art and music, I also did a little bit of cheerleading. I graduated in 2021. It was a little scary at first but then I loved it. I ended up going to fashion school. Once I left fashion school, I was a famous singer and I still am a famous singer and my stage name is Kitty Kat.

When I was ten I said I was going to be a horse trainer but I guess I was wrong because I was meant to be a singer. Some of my hobbies are going to the pet shelter and help animals and I also donate food to homeless people.

In my family I have two kids named Rebecca and Katie and a husband named Brian. Rebecca is 13 and she is a great singer like me and surfs. Her birthday is June 22, 2020. Katie is 10 and she likes to swim and does roller derby and her birthday is July 3, 2022. I also have a dog named Bo and he is two years old and a cat named Echo and she is 11 months.

I still want to go to London and South America and see water buffalo, giant lizards, and especially a howler monkey. I was a fashion designer for two years and I was the one who designed the electronic dress. I have been living in a very big house in Hollywood on a lake.

I am about to star in a new movie called Clear Away Rain. It is about a family that lives in a place where it is always raining and the family tries to make the rain go away and the sun come out. I want to tell you more, but I don’t want to be a spoiler so you can see the movie and see what happens next and I bet it will be a great movie.

When I was in your class you were my favorite boy teacher out of all the boy teachers. I liked when we did songs. I really liked the song Circle. I also liked math. When I couldn’t do division, you taught me to be great at it.

And sorry about the guitar strap. I am just really scared of bugs.

The song I’ve always wanted to sing with the class is called “Ho Hey” by The Lumineers. It’s a really good song.

If I could be in your class one more time I would do it.

Sincerely,
Aubrey

IMG_7461

Dear Mr. Colvin,
I am Austin. You might not remember me, but I was in your 4th-grade class in 2013. I was the kid who liked to help a lot. I would like to write you a letter to tell you how I am doing.

Well, let me tell you where I work. I work at United Grain with my dad. He is 62 years old. We load 30 tons of grain onto a boat from railroad cars.

Now let me tell you about the rest of my life. I live in Washington State.It is very hot right now. I have two kids and a wife. When I get time off I play with my kids. They are both two and both boys. One is named Johnny and the other is named Abe. I take them to the park with me and they go down the slide. My wife’s name is Chloe. We have a dog named Roger and he is three days old.

I am working on a battery power jet pack so it does not pollute the air. My hobbies are working at a RC car shop in the summer. I also like riding my bike. I went to high school at Othello high school and graduated and went to college at Mt. Hood Community College and got that job I talked about at the beginning of the letter. It’s nice to get in touch.

Sincerely,
Austin

IMG_7449

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Veronica and I was in your fourth grade class in 2012 to 2013.

I’m the one who played Tricia in the play Gooney Bird Greene and Her True Life Adventures. In your class I really enjoyed learning all the songs you taught us.

Now I am 30 years old and am a part time actor and and a full time nurse and work in the Medical field. I also do surgery. When I’m acting, I travel around the world acting in movies.

My most recent movie was set in China. The movie was called “The Dragon on Chinese New Year.” It is about this boy who helps put up the dragon on Chinese New Year. My part is his mom and she is very protective of him. When I was there I learned about their culture. I learned that they ate Rattle Snake Bread and Rabbit Feet Soup.

For Middle School I went to Sellwood, then I went to Cleveland High School, and then to the University of California. When I’m done acting I have a house in California. I also got an Academy Award for acting!

I have husband named James and we have no children. I visited Hawaii again and went snorkeling and saw the state fish. It’s called a Humu-humu-nuku-nuku-apua’a. It has such a big name.

My hobbies are playing piano and hanging out with friends. I’m also on a soccer team with Mariah. Our team is called The Red Dragons.

I am in Portland, Oregon right now visiting my mom Andrea and my dad Jerry. My mom would pick me up from fourth grade. And my dad Jerry was at work a lot but you met him a few times. They are still working now and still love their jobs.

I hope I see you soon.

Sincerely,
Veronica

IMG_7463

Dear Mr. Colvin,
You may not remember me but I’m Henry from your 4th grade class in 2012-2013. I am now 30 years old. I was the one who used to mess around in class and I used to work kind of slow, but I always did a good job on what I was doing.

My wife’s name is Deborah. I have one boy who’s seven years old (Ryder) and a one girl who’s five years old (Faith). I got married to Deborah 4 years ago. Ryder likes sports, music, movies and video games. Faith likes music, movies and shopping.

Some of my hobbies are model making, collecting Baseball cards, riding my bike, hunting for deer in Montana with my friends Albert and Alex, and playing video games. The high school I went to was Cleveland and the college I went to was Reed College. After college I worked at Best Buy for a little while then I started to move to Arizona and now I live in a mansion with Albert in Phoenix, Arizona.

Now I’m a Nascar driver and I’ve got about four or five trophies I think (I haven’t counted them in a while). I have over 500 electronics like computers, TVs, a home theater system, iPhones, iPads, surround sound, and musical instruments.

Sincerely,
Henry

IMG_7444

Dear Mr. Colvin,
I was in your 4th grade class in the 2012-2013 school year. I went and still go by Noah, probably because that is my name. I am 30 now. I’m the one who oddly enough had a pink sparkly unicorn & grenade tattoo.

I live in North Dakota and I am in the construction business (just for now).

I heard that Kohl (a kid that was also in the class) went to law school. I went to college at the University of North Dakota (UND) because I was born in North Dakota (mastered in Mathematics), high school at Cleveland (graduated in 2021), and middle school at Sellwood while I was there I won spelling bee.

I am still friends with these people from fourth grade: Trevion, Tanner, and Kohl. Sometimes I talk with them on the phone and I rarely see them.

I have donated money and supported the United States Armed Forces because Tanner is in the Armed Forces and they’re supporting this country.

People that are still alive in my family are: my cousins Sara, Mike, Bobby, Riley, Naveck, Kirk, and one I still don’t know who lives in Australia, Great Aunt Liz, Great Uncle Bob, Aunt Katy, Uncle Greg, Grandma Mary, Mom Petra, and my wife and children. The pets that are still alive are some fish, a dog Rufuss, a turtle Lettuce, and a cat Mr. Money Bag$.

I have been to Canada, North Dakota, Minnesota, Montana, South Dakota, Oregon, New York, and Washington. I want to go to the Marshall Islands (for some odd reason I’ve always had this weird fascination and I’ve always wanted to go there) and Ukraine (because my family originated in Ukraine). Those are the places I can think of.

I would like to thank you and not just because you were my 4th grade teacher because you were a good one, too and for all the activities like songs and art.

Sincerely,
Noah

IMG_7445

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Joey, and I was a student in your fourth grade class of 2012-2013. I am writing to tell you that I have a magnificent life in beautiful Miami, Florida and I am now playing Major League Baseball for the San Francisco Giants.

You might be wondering how I get around from place to place. Well, I am pleased to say that I have made my own Jet Pack with the best scientist in the world, Rick Bold. The Jet Pack has everything– even a mini-fridge. Can you believe it?

I am happy to tell you that I am happily married to a wonderful woman named Amanda Richmond and we have a two year old boy named Adam. My wife and I both went to Stanford and met in 2022 and married in 2026. My majors were Math, History, and Astronomy. I graduated in 2025, by the way, I am now 30 years of age! Can you believe it?

Something to refresh your memory would be that I played Mr. Greene and Mr. Prince in our marvelous rendition of Gooney Bird Greene in the Lewis School drama production. Another thing to help you remember me is that I wore shorts to school every day and I loved math.

After I went to Lewis I went to Winter Haven Middle School and was an A+ student. I am sure you heard me talking about going to Jesuit High School and guess what I got accepted and graduated in 2021. I have been volunteering at homeless shelters in my area. I also make food and help build houses for the poor.

I wrote a book called Some Season and it is about my season in baseball and how it affected my life. Not my season in Academy, but my season as a pro. I am playing baseball because when I was 4 years old all I did was want to play baseball and I decided that I wanted to continue my dream of playing MLB.

One of my hobbies is hiking with my family and I also have a bobblehead collection with more than 100 bobble heads!

I have traveled to Europe and Africa and Asia but my favorite place that I have been to so far is Canada because I did all the winter sports I could in just one week! I really want to go to Australia, Antarctica, and South America because I want to see Sydney and the Amazon jungle.

There have been some minor hurricanes in our area and we had to move, but everything is all better in our town now.

Sincerely,
Joey

IMG_7448

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Makena. I was in your fourth-grade class in 2012-2013. I’m the one who played Beanie in the school play and brought a ratty blanket to school as one of my three favorite things. I’m 30 years old now.

I finished elementary school at Rolling Hills. Rolling Hills is an elementary school in Mukwonago Wisconsin. For middle school, I went to Park View. There I learned how to play the flute and went to Major Arts Class. For high school I went to Mukwonago High. I learned how to play basketball and I got to go to state. My team won every game. I graduated from high school in 2021.

For college I went to the University of Wisconsin. For four months I went to Africa and learned about their culture. I brought food and water for them, and in reward, they offered me a Cobra head and turtle blood. I couldn’t be rude, so I had to have some. It was disgusting!

For a year, I got to travel around the world. My favorite place I traveled was Australia. I had a great experience there, I even got to help save a Kookaburra and an Emu. That was a lifetime experience.

Now I’m a nurse. I have masters degree in the medical field and I work in the emergency room. In fourth grade I wanted to be a forensic scientist, which I still think is a really cool job.

I have a lot of hobbies, but I have two that I really like are mountain biking and running. Last year I was in the Ironman in Hawaii. I came in fifth place. Afterward my feet were so sore, I could barely walk.

I live in Wisconsin with my husband, Luke Solhmeae. We got married seven months ago. I don’t have any kids yet, but we do have two dogs. Lewis is a hound dog. We got him at the pound four months ago. He’s kind and sweet and loves to play ball and tug o’ war. Luke and I live in the woods, so we need a good hounder, and boy can he hound!

Analla is a black lab mix dark retriever. We got Analla in Mexico when Luke and I went for vacation. We were walking down the street, when we saw a sign posted on the Animal Care Center’s door. The sign said Puppies For Sale! Of course we had to get one. When we walked in, to our left was pile of puppies that could barely keep their eyes open. A man behind the counter told us that Analla’s mom was the skinniest stray you ever did see. She was skinny to the bone and she was pregnant. A man saw her walking on the street and immediately took her to the Animal Care Center. She had her puppies one week later.

Analla is sweet, mischievous, and energetic. Analla is a great challenge, she keeps Luke and I on our toes!

In fourth grade I liked a lot of things, but most of all I liked that you could play the guitar and every day or so you would sing with us. I don’t think I will ever meet anyone as skillful and knowledgeable as you!!

Sincerely,
Makena

2013-05-20 08.50.48-2

Dear Mr. Colvin,
My name is Elliot. I was in your fourth grade class from 2012-2013. I am the one who always took very long on all our art projects.

I am now thirty years old. I went to Sellwood Middle School. Then I went to Cleveland High School, then went on to Reed College. I graduated and started to look for a soccer career. I tried out for Argentina and made the team. I am left forward.

I am now married and have two kids. Every week we do something special together as a family. Today I taught my son Hunter how to ride a bike.

We went on a big bike ride around the park, then went home to eat dinner. So now that you know about my life, I want to hear about yours. Where do you live, do you have a new job, do you have grandchildren, how is your family doing? Please write back.

I hope to hear back soon.I still hang out with some of the kids that were in your class. Mostly Joey. He invites me to most of his baseball games. And I invite him to most of mine.

Sincerely,
Elliot

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.