Class Notes for Nov. 12-15, 2013

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The class had a wet but successful field trip to the Lelooska Cultural Center in Ariel, WA last Thursday. Our class, along with the other two classes from Lewis, were respectful listeners during the performance put on the Lelooska family. I was proud to say I was their teacher! Also, I want to thank chaperones Betsy, Amy, Gwynn, and Pam for going along with us. We couldn’t have done it without you!

We start a Writing residency this week with guest writing teacher Anne Rutherford. She will start with us on Wednesday, then come back for four days next week. I am looking forward to seeing the writing that the students come up with for this residency.

By now your child should have brought home and shown you the Pursuing the Past packet and hopefully he or she has either started on it or is making a plan for completing it. The project is not due until early December, but it’s not something that your child will want to start two nights before it is due. See last week’s post on the blog for more information or call or write to me.

We return to our regularly scheduled homework this week. There will be the math and spelling packets and at least 30 minutes of reading each night.

Just in case your child mentions it, I am growing a moustache and participating in Movember this year. Movember is an organization that raises awareness of men’s health issues, similar to the  Susan G. Komen Foundation and Livestrong. My Movember page is at http://us.movember.com/mospace/8032729 We’ll see how long the moustache stays after the end of November. 🙂

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.