Salmon Release Field Trip Volunteers Needed

Jefferson Park- Milwaukie OR

First off, it was great getting together with everybody for conferences. I learn so much from meeting with and hearing from parents that it makes me wish we could do this the first couple of weeks of school.

I have scheduled a field trip to release our salmon into the Willamette River for the afternoon of Tuesday, Dec. 10. We will go to the boat ramp area of the Jefferson St. Park in Milwaukie to release the salmon and measure the temperature and pH of the water they are released into. If the weather is decent we might even be able to play a quick game of Salmon vs. Predator. The park is near the mouth of Johnson Creek.

We will eat lunch at school, then take a TriMet bus down to the park in Milwaukie where we will be met by our Reed College leaders. They will take us through the process of the salmon release and other scientific activities, then we will board the TriMet bus back to school. We should be gone from approximately 12:20 to 2:30 p.m.

This is a free field trip, paid for by our friends at Reed College Science Outreach!

I am hoping that at least five parents can join us on this trip.  Please email me at pcolvin@pps.net if you are interested in helping out on this trip. If you haven’t gone through the process of getting a background check for field trips yet, give Tracy a call at 503 916-6360 and she will let you know what needs to be done. Thanks!

I wish you all a very Happy Thanksgiving!

Somebody left this jump rope outside over the weekend and this is the way I found it when I came in on Monday morning before conferences.

Somebody left this jump rope outside over the weekend and this is the way I found it when I came in on Monday morning before conferences.

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.