Kellen’s Excellent New Zealand Adventure– Part I

Kellen’s family is visiting relatives in New Zealand in December. He has offered to share some of his experiences with the world by writing about the trip for our class blog. He seems to be enjoying the weather with its 70° temperatures.

Flying to New Zealand our over-night trip crossed the international date line so we went from Thursday to Saturday. We skipped Friday. I was very tired as I did not sleep well on the plane.

The first picture shows me on a bike my Grandpa Dave brought for $5 at a police auction for me to ride. It has 6 gears. My grandparents live in a town of about 60 people, so I can ride up and down the street, but I have to remember to be on the left side of the road.

On Monday night we went to the Glow Worm Caves. We had to go on a boat across Lake Te Anua past the Dome Islands, it looked like the scenes from Lord of the Rings. We went in a cave with water running through it, then got in small boats to go through the Glow Worm Grotto. The glow worms looked like stars on the ceiling of the cave.

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.