Kellen’s Excellent New Zealand Adventure– Part III

Ruler_and_Tour_Guide_and_Google_Earth

On Friday the 13th we drove to Christchurch. My parents used to live here before my sister and I were born. In 2010 and 2011 there were two major earthquakes which did considerable damage in the downtown area. The city is still in recovery. We felt a small earthquake. It was a 3.5M http://www.christchurchquakemap.co.nz/today

Christchurch_Quake_Map_-_Earthquakes_in_the_past_7_days

On Saturday we went to Orana Wildlife Park, one of my favourite (Editor’s note: Kellen is starting to spell the British way!) was the New Zealand icon, the Kiwi. They live in a nocturnal house which is dark to make the kiwi’s think it is night so we can see them during the day. I also got to feed the giraffes. When they are hungry they are very greedy.

kiwi-1

IMGP0847 (1024x683)

IMGP0919 (1024x683)

This is me on a flying fox (Zipline in the U.S.). There used to be flying fox at almost every park but now they are only at a few parks.

IMGP0992 (1024x683)

My Uncle Simon has an awesome car he rebuilt it and painted. He builds fiberglass body kits for cars and jet boat hulls and lots of other things out of fiberglass. He owns his own company called Aerotech.

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.