H1N1 is Back: Sing Down the Flu

After going away for a few years, the H1N1 flu virus, otherwise known as the Swine Flu, is back just in time for the beginning of 2014. The Center for Disease Prevention (CDC) has information about this year’s outbreak at their weekly update page.

The Oregonian is reporting that area emergency rooms are filling up with victims of the flu somewhat earlier than normal. Late February and early March are the usual peak times, according to the article on Oregonlive.

usmap52

During the last major outbreak of the H1N1 virus in 2009, I was teaching music at Woodmere. My wife and some friends and I came up with the idea of writing a song to teach the basics of personal hygiene to help prevent the spread of the flu virus. We ended up with a song called the “H1N1 Swine Flu Blues.” I taught the song to all K-5 students and they loved it.

Listen and sing along on Soundcloud or click the speaker icon below. And then go wash your hands!

The H1N1 Swine Flu Blues

By Mr. Colvin with the help of Toni Wyffels, Diana Colvin, and the Students of Woodmere

When I woke up this morning,
I was feeling mighty warm,
My throat hurt like crazy,
And I was coughing up a storm.

My nose was running like a faucet,
My body ached all over,
I knew I wasn’t feeling too well.
And you know just what I’ve got:

Chorus:

I’ve got the H-1-N-1 Swine Flu Blues,
It’s making me sick right down to my shoes.
I’ve got the H-1-N-1 Swine Flu Blues,
You better believe me, I’m paying my dues.         

I have got some advice for you,
On just how to avoid the Flu.
So please listen carefully,
And I’ll tell you exactly what to do:

You’ve got to wash your hands a lot,
Keep your hands away from your mouth and nose,
Cover your cough with your sleeve,
If you want those germs to leave.

Repeat Chorus

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.