Welcome Back! Class Notes for Jan. 6-10, 2014

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a fun and relaxing time with your families, whether you stayed in town (like I did) or went to the far corners of the world (as at least one of our students did).

We are starting a new unit on Native Americans of the Pacific Northwest. We will learn about how Native Americans came to this area, and study how they lived in terms of food, shelter, clothing, the tools they used, transportation, and the art they created. We will learn about the six major cultural areas in Oregon and within each area, we will zoom in on one representative tribe. Later on in the unit, I will bring in artifacts that my grandfather collected, many of the made before Columbus arrived in 1492. We (Ms. Sarah and Ms. Rotwein) have some fun activities planned for our favorite fourth graders!

lewis_4th_grade_homework_reading_log2014

Click on the graphic to bring up a printable PDF of the Reading Log.

One change I want to try out for at least January and February is Reading Logs. As you know, one of my homework requirements is to read at least 30 minutes each night. I will explain this to the class, but I wanted to give you a heads up on what to expect. Basically, I am asking students to keep track of what they are reading at home five nights a week. There is space to write down the page numbers read each night, along with a brief summary sentence or two about what happened in the story. The Reading Log is due each Friday. A packet of logs for January and February will be going home on Monday.

Other homework includes the math packet, spellingcity.com (this week’s words are ready to go), and as much time on lymboo.com as possible. As you can tell by my emails over the break, I think Lymboo Math is a very powerful tool for helping with remediation as well as enrichment in math instruction.2014-01-03 12.54.22

Come by the gym sometime and admire the new traverse wall that was installed over the break. The kids have been looking forward to this since the beginning of the year.

This week’s spelling words all have the vowel sound in shout. It can either be spelled ou or ow.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.