Class Notes for April 21-25, 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was fortunate to be able to work with the school play these past few weeks. Although my role was mostly behind the scenes helping with logistics and such, I was around the actors and musicians quite a bit this past week. Room 24 was represented well by Franny and Emmy up on stage and Sean A. and Tate helping out in the orchestra. I’m hoping that more members of our class take advantage of this great opportunity to participate in the theater program next year.

The class took the OAKS reading test on Monday and I was impressed with the concentration and perseverance that the class as a whole exhibited. It’s not easy to focus as long as the class did, but they pulled it off like pros. The math test will be in two weeks.

Once again, this week’s homework will be a little different. Instead of spelling, I’d like students to focus on math review. There are two excellent ways to accomplish this, both of them involving computers and/or iPads. The first is Front Row Math and the second is IXL. I suggest using the decimals section of IXL if you choose to use it. On Front Row Math, focus on the fractions (NF) section. The class can take a break from Reading Logs this week, too, but keep reading that half hour every night! We’ll be back to our regularly-scheduled programming next week.

We are reading Flora and Ulysses, a wonderful book by Kate DiCamillo with many memorable characters and lots of great dialog (“Holy Bagumba!” and “Holy unanticipated occurrences!” are two of my favorite lines). The book won the 2014 Newbery Medal for best children’s literature. It’s a fun book to read aloud. It even gave me a chance to teach the class my famous squirrel call that my dad taught me many years ago!

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.