Class Notes for June 9-13, 2014

Well, that just about wraps up 4th grade, for me as well as the kids. I’ve often said that 4th grade is my favorite grade, but as I have never tried 5th grade (except when I was in it myself), who knows? Change has been good for me in the past and I am looking forward to moving up in the world as a 5th-grade teacher next year.

I am sad to leave one of the best teaching teams I have have ever worked with. Thanks to Ms. Sarah and Ms. Rotwein for being such great teachers to work, plan, and eat lunch with! That said, I will be rejoining Mr. Marchyok (we taught 4th grade together our first two years at Lewis) and also will get a chance to work with Ms. Speer.

We are going to make a concerted effort to make it all the way to Oregon this last week for our simulation. It’s going to be touch and go, but we might make it if everybody pitches in and works hard. We have a science work sample to complete that is required by the state, as well as some other tests that are required by the PPS district.

Although we still have work to do, there will be time for fun this last week of school. There is the family breakfast on Wednesday (already in the history books if you read this in the Weekly), there is a memory book signing, there is sidewalk chalk and a blank playground to decorate with Pokemon characters for the summer, there are books to read, math problems to solve, stories to write, friends to visit with, an all-school assembly with farewells to this year’s 5th graders to attend, and our own goodbyes to say.

All of the online activities on the class blog will be active over the summer, so use them as much as you can. But be sure to get outside for the fresh air and sunshine. I remember– with rose-colored glasses I am sure– summer vacation as a time of Little League practice, pick-up games, playing army in the woods behind our house, swimming lessons, spending time with grandparents, reading whatever I wanted to (yes, kids, I read comic books back when I was your age and I loved to trade baseball cards with my friends!), camping, and family trips. Whenever I told my mom that I was bored, she would tell me to go outside and play. That cured my boredom every time! There was always something to do outside. After that little stroll down memory lane I should probably add, tongue-in-cheek, that I walked 20 miles through the snow every day to get to school with a 35-pound backpack–even in June!

I wish everyone a safe and fun summer vacation. Keep reading!

And now, a few random pictures from throughout the year. Feel free to go back through the blog and pull off pictures and articles that you want to keep. There is no guarantee that the blog will be accessible forever, so get ’em while you can. All you have to do is stop the slide show and advance one picture at a time and pull it to your desktop.

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.