Civil War Reenactment

My wife and I took a trip down to the Salem area on Saturday and watched an impressive Civil War battle reenactment. The Northwest Civil War Council puts on a living history event each year at Willamette Mission State Park and about 1,000 reenactors participated from the 4th to the 6th of July. Tents are pitched, cooking is done on campfires, and uniforms are donned in preparation for the twice-daily battles.

I think this event takes place on the 4th of July weekend at Willamette Mission State Park. It’s a great way to bring a piece of American history alive.

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.