Welcome (Back) to Room 24!

grade5

Dear Parents/Guardians and Students,

Cooler temperatures. Check.
Rain. Check.
Leaves turning colors. Check.
School supply sales. Check.
Room 24 neat and tidy. Check.

The only thing that’s missing is our incoming 5th graders, otherwise known as the Big Kids at Lewis.

Welcome to a new school year at Meriwether Lewis Elementary! My name is Mr. Colvin and I am very excited to be working with you and your child this year to achieve success in fifth grade. We have a fulfilling year ahead with a lot to accomplish, and I am eager to get started! As many of you know, this is my first year teaching fifth grade after having taught everything from 1st through 6th grades.

The fifth grade curriculum covers many exciting new topics, including a personal favorite of mine, U.S. history, and this year will be filled with many meaningful learning experiences. I am passionate about learning and feel that students can learn best when their lessons are relevant and useful. I plan on providing your child with many memorable educational experiences and hands-on activities to help facilitate their learning in a practical way.

I have high expectations for fifth grade students and am confident we can meet these expectations with teamwork and communication. A child’s quality education needs support and hard work from the teacher, parent, and student; let’s work together to reach our maximum potential this year! Fifth grade is a big year in preparing for middle school and we need focus, a positive attitude, and a bit of risk-taking in order to achieve our goals. Our work will be challenging, but very rewarding and I expect students to take initiative and responsibility for their own learning.

I am sending home a packet of information on the first day of school about classroom procedures and expectations In this packet I have included basic classroom policies, procedures, and a brief overview of the fifth grade curriculum. Please read it through carefully with your child when it arrives on Tuesday. At the end of the packet is a questionnaire to help me get to know you and your child a bit better. Please sign and detach the last page and the questionnaire page and return them no later than Monday, September 8th.

I am truly excited for this year and cannot wait to meet you (and in some cases, see you again)!

I hope to see you all at the Back-to-School Night on Tuesday, Sep. 16 at 6:00!

Sincerely,

Mr. Colvin
Phone: 503 916-6360
Email: pcolvin@pps.net

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.