Class Notes for Oct. 20-24, 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What a busy week we had! With Run for the Arts, the Drama residency,  a very cool Reed College College Science lesson on motion, and starting up our blogs, the kids and I have been busy.

We are gearing up for our trip to Bonneville Dam and Fish Hatchery on Monday, Oct. 27. Thank you to those who have volunteered to go with us on the trip. It’s touch and go on how much room we will have on the bus, so please be prepared to carpool or go on our own if the bus is overcrowded. I’ll get more information to volunteers as we get closer to the field trip day.

Room 24 will soon be using KidBlog, a free platform that enables students to post and comment (with everything getting my approval before going public) on topics that they are interested in and some that I will assign. We made paper versions of our blogs last week and got started with entering the first post. Students will practice commenting on others’ blogs this week using appropriate safety, thoughtfulness, and respectfulness guidelines.

I am looking forward to getting together with parents next week during conferences. If you need a reminder on when your conference is, check on http://www.signupgenius.com or drop me an email.

Homework is due this Friday the 24th, but because of conferences next week, the next packets will be due on Nov. 7.

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.