Class Notes for Dec. 15-19, 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Welcome to the final edition of Room 24 Class Notes of 2014. I hope everybody’s time off is filled with friends, family, and football. Go Ducks on New Year’s Day 2015!

I’m looking forward to seeing Room 24 parents at our Fifth-Grade Family Breakfast on Friday. A flyer went home last week, but if you missed it, please check the blog for details. In a nutshell, we will start at 8:15 on Friday in Ms. Speer’s room (21) and at 9:00 we move to Mr. Richner’s room (20) where we will have a singalong. Join us if you can!

Several teams showed their Native American presentations last week. There will be an opportunity for “do overs” for those who want a higher score. I am encouraging students to add more information and fact check before presenting again. Students will also display their Native American dwelling project starting this week.

During Winter Break I’d like to have each student continue to read at least a half hour a day and go onto Front Row Math as much as possible. Front Row Math is a powerful site that can challenge students with material up to 8th-grade level. BrainPop is also available thanks to a site license for Lewis. Students should be able to log in with their apps4pps.net account. Of  course, code.org is open and ready for students to continue the Hour of Code that we began last week. Another resource over vacation is Newsela, a current events website that has news stories written at different reading levels all the way up to high school. I’ve been challenging students to go for 100% (four out of four) on the quizzes. If you have questions about any of these sites or your child has difficulty logging in to them at home, send me an email and I’ll see if I can help.

See you in 2015!

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.