Class Notes for June 1-5, 2015

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week’s highlight was definitely the Spring Concert featuring all of Mr. Jamesbarry’s music groups. I love hearing all the different groups perform on instruments that most have only been playing less than a year. The difference from the beginning to the end of the year is remarkable. It was great seeing several of our Room 24 friends representing the class up on the stage in the 5th-grade band and Boomin’ Beats.

Field Day is on Thursday, June 4 at 1:00. If you are able to help, contact Ms. Layman at mlayman@pps.net. The activities should last until about 2:30. Your child should dress appropriately for outdoor activities. Sunscreen is not a bad idea, especially if it warms up towards the end of the week. Flip flops are definitely a bad idea.

Students are in presentation mode this week. Topics vary from a report on invasive plants to the history of Minecraft for the self-chosen topics to the French and Indian Wars to Sally Ride for the U.S. history reports.

I would like the year to end on a positive note and I see no reason why that shouldn’t be the case. Please remind your child about appropriate school behavior in terms of showing respect for other students and adults in the building.

Please put the 5th-Grade Promotion on your calendar for next Thursday at 2:00. Parents are invited to attend. As I’ve mentioned before, this is a bring-your-own-tissue promotion. I bet I could fund the entire first year of my retirement if I had a Kleenex stand outside the door of the cafeteria! Ka-ching!

 

 

 

 

 

About Mr. Colvin

I'm a retired elementary teacher (classroom and music) who taught at Lewis and Woodmere elementary schools in SE Portland. I like to teach, play guitar, take photos, and ride my bike.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.